Eve by Kayla Nelson

I will never lie in a coffin

Or have someone weep over me.

I will never retire

Or work my first day.

I will never play with my grandchildren

Nor raise a family.

I will never buy a wedding dress

Or march down the aisle.

I will never vote

Or argue with another.

I will never go to college

Or graduate high school.

I will never go to prom,

Or on my first date.

I will never have a first kiss.

I will never drive a car

Or even ride a bike.

I will never cross the monkey bars

Or play upon the swings.

I will never run to you

Or fall and scrape my knee.

I will never cry

Or say a naughty word.

I will never sing happy birthday

Or blow out my candles.

I will never write my name

Or color a picture for you.

I will never dream.

I will never see your face

Or utter my first word.

I will never call you “Mommy.”

I will never breathe.

I will never

Leave a Reply

