Prayer to M.P. by Kristina Ciminillo

I don’t have an MP3 player
I don’t have you grandmother
Just M.P.
I feel empty

Martha Pratt
Just that
And Cherokee
It’s all I know

I never heard the music of your lips
What was your morning song?
Could you wake me?
I just want to sleep in

To rest in the things I discover
To keep these things in me like seeds
Or beads
Help me count them
Rub my Catholic prayers into the Native dust of my soul

Help me empty myself grandmother
So I can be filled again

–Kristina Ciminillo

Leave a Reply

