Stop and Think by Megan Good

Did you ever stop to think about how often
you and I say and do things we don’t mean?
How I put up with you even when your
presence annoys me? I’m trying to be nice
and keep this relationship, but sometimes
I wonder if it’s worth it.

Did you ever stop and think that I don’t really
care about your endeavors? I just listen to
what you say because that’s what good friends
do. I’ve stopped trying to tell you what I really
think because you don’t listen.

Did you ever stop and think that when I say
I want to punch you, I’m not joking? I really
mean it sometimes. Sure, I laugh and smile
while I say it, but you never look beyond
that to see my true intentions.

Did you ever stop and think that when I say
I don’t want anything, I seriously don’t
want anything? You don’t need to buy
me jewelry, which I won’t wear, or a
stuffed animal that will just sit in my
closet to buy my affection.

So next time you think about getting me
something, think I’m just joking around,
or see me nodding my head along with
what you say, just stop and think.

–Megan Good

Leave a Reply

